Thank you so much for the information btw! I am purchasing an online guitar with Spruce top, Sapele back and sides. It adds dimension to my ideas as to what projects to use these two distinct woods for. Torrefied European Spruce - African Mahogany. In my opinion both are great tonewoods anyway and if you like the tone of your 000-15, that’s the main thing! I do not want to use the African because it will not match the existing Honduras. I’ve been playing guitar for several years, and now I’m looking to get myself a Ukelele. The African does not hold its color very well. Its grain is generally tighter than that of African Mahogany. Usually, when someone asks what Sapele is, the answer is invariably – “it’s like Mahogany”. Straight to interlocked grain with a uniformly medium to coarse texture. Typically, in guitar construction, mahogany means Central American Honduran mahogany or African mahogany. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Reactions: Gig Young and Brian N Inside the Luthier's Shop with BigDGuitars.com: African Mahogany great low priced alternative honduran mahogany Registered User : Join Date: Nov 2006. Bought my first uke and it was made a sapele and was curious what it was. Mahogany’s sound can be described as “earthy” “strong” “beefy”. There are many species of tree that are called “mahogany” (some accurately, some not so much). When used as a back/side wood to compliment a brighter sounding top wood, Mahogany is good for mellowing out the brightness and adding some warmth and a stronger mid-range plus softening the highs and reducing the overtones. All of those species get rolled under one moniker and sold as African Mahogany. Honduran Mahogany is becoming increasingly rare. Also like Mahogany, Sapele is a popular wood for guitar necks. African Mahogany wood is one of the most popular exotic tonewoods available for major manufacturers and custom builders. The most obvious issue with African is "ribbon striping". african mahogany doe