It was soft, chewy, soaked up butter like a sponge when I served it. Awesome recipe! And while a baking stone may produce a nice crusty bottom I've always felt that it took some of the air out of the bread since you're transferring the dough after it's been proofed. My fiance and family could not get enough of it! 96 calories; protein 3g 6% DV; carbohydrates 17.6g 6% DV; fat 1.3g 2% DV; cholesterol 0.2mg; sodium 234.5mg 9% DV. 5. ), Things to Stop Buying to Save Money (and get out of debt! The dough for ciabatta bread is extremely wet compared to other bread types. Using a wooden spoon stir in 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour and 1 teaspoon salt. Repeat with smaller ciabattas. I'll start with the good: I've been making bread for a couple years and this is easily the best bread I've made to date. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. I cannot rate this recipe highly enough. For those that thought the sponge needed water, it doesn't. And while a baking stone may produce a nice crusty bottom I've always felt that it took some of the air out of the bread since you're transferring the dough after it's been proofed. After the dough has risen for 2 hours pour it onto a lightly floured surface. A simple recipe for fabulous homemade Ciabatta Bread. Transfer each half to a parchment sheet and form into an irregular oval about 9 inches long. I just baked them on the parchment paper that had already been sprinkled with some cornmeal. I'll definitely be making the modified version again. Cover loaves with a dampened kitchen towel. I have fallen in love with making bread these past few months, and this is the best recipe I have have found, by far. This ensures your yeast is active. They turned out great! Roll the dough into a log. Tastes just as good after only sitting for a few hours as it does after 24+. Method Combine half of the flour and 4g of the yeast with 150ml/5fl oz water in a bowl. When this ciabatta bread comes out of the oven it has