I'm a trial & error, self taught, sugar addict who thankfully learned how to survive in the kitchen! Let me quickly break down the steps before leaving you with the recipe. Follow our easy, step-by-step, photo illustrated recipe to learn how to make delicious Candied Sweet Potatoes, or as we like to call them, Candied Yams. Slice the sweet potatoes in long strips and place in a casserole dish. Bake uncovered for about 50 minutes. It doesn’t have to be Thanksgiving for me to devour a pan of Sweet Potato soufflé. Candied sweet potatoes topped with marshmallows are a Thanksgiving staple at our house. … I make it every year and our holiday table just wouldn’t be the same without it. Send me the latest recipes! Stir to coat. This post may contain affiliate links. This old-fashioned casserole is easy to make and can be made a day ahead, making it one of the best Thanksgiving side dishes. Mix the sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. Store in a cool, dry place until ready to use. This easy Sweet Potato Casserole recipe is a family favorite that’s loaded with marshmallows, butter, cinnamon. Yield: 8 servings. Instead, store the casserole (without marshmallows) in the fridge covered tightly with foil. This casserole can also sit on the counter for a few hours and wait for your other Thanksgiving side dishes to be ready. Get family friendly meals and desserts delivered to your inbox. Then lay them flat in a 13×9 … I love reading your ideas! Add the mixture to a 9×13 baking dish and cover with foil pan. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment. This post may contain affiliate links. Here’s how you do it: If you want to make this casserole ahead of time, follow all steps but stop right before you put the marshmallows on top. Candied Sweet Potatoes with a meal or as a dessert. Candied Sweet Potatoes. Heat the casserole in oven for 15 minutes (still covered with foil), then remove from oven and carefully top with marshmallows. Slice the butter into pieces and place h