This works fine with all other laptops I've used in the past (Lenovo, HP, Toshiba...etc). I have an old laptop (Asus n56v) that I turned into a home lab by installing Proxmox hypervisor, it works well and also WOL (wake on LAN) work. So I've updated my setup and right now I'm working with my XPS 15 9560. Can we have Sleep by lid close & Wake by lid openening for our Hackintosh? I went into device manager and selected the mouse (HID Compliant Mouse) and under power management tab unchecked "allow this device to wake … How to manipulate lid close action in Windows 8, Windows 8.1 & Windows 10. My Lenovo T520, for example, can be closed and woken up on lan. Even before I started playing with the settings I was able to wake from sleep using my USB keyboard. Many people are using the closed-clamshell or closed-display mode to take advantage of the bigger screens at home. Some laptops use the gaps between keys for air flow/air intake. Usually, laptop power switches cannot be accessed when the lid is closed. If you open the lid of your laptop again, it automatically re-assigns the external monitor as an “extended desktop”. I was able to find some old threads online where they suggest turning on the BIOS option to Turn On when the power cord is inserted and that it's … The setup that we were trying to achieve was a Windows 10 laptop connected to a monitor via HDMI. I wanted to use my laptop always with the lid close. On Windows 10, right-click the Battery icon > Power Options > Choose what closing the lid does. Is there any way to wake the laptop without opening it? A few hours later when I take it out, it's at half battery life and really hot. Be careful using a laptop with lid closed. The keyboard and mouse attached via a switchbox do not wake it up. I use my Alienware 17X closed and hooked up to a workstation. I want to be able to wake my laptop from sleep WITHOUT opening the lid of the laptop - preferably by pressing a button on the keyboard. I am forced to shut the comp